Google “Likes” +1 Button

We’ve all been prone to do it. When perusing our Facebook friend’s profile pictures, status updates and wall posts, we’ve all at one time or another clicked that little “Like” button. While our “Like” may display our enjoyment and concurrence to what we’ve just seen, Facebook creators have used the nifty clicking option to bridge the gap to other websites.

As the Facebook “Like” button has popped up on everything ranging from New York Times articles to the restaurant homepage of California Pizza Kitchen, it has demonstrated a brilliant tool for connecting website browsing and people’s personal interests.

Google +1 Button. Photo provided by Google.com

In the spirit of the “Like” button, Google Labs users who have opted in, and soon all Google users will have the opportunity to start using their “+1” feature. Similar to Facebook, Google defines the “+1” as a “public stamp of approval” where users will become connected to all links that they click “+1” for.

After opting into the Google Labs experiment, users will see on all future searches the option to “+1” any link. When an individual clicks “+1” to a link, that website is recorded by Google on each person’s Google Profile, displaying their likes and interests based on their “+1” history.

Like Facebook, there remains privacy concerns for Google’s “+1”. When an individual uses the “+1” application their name and profile picture (if they uploaded one) can appear in other people’s future searches of the same subject being clicked “+1”. While Google does allow users to make their profiles private, “+1” requires users to keep their profiles public. For now “+1″users will have to sacrifice privacy in order to try Google’s latest efforts to catch up with Facebook.

To learn more about Google’s “+1” button check out their video tutorial

This entry was posted in Joe Cervone and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply